HELLO FEAR- PART 2–FEARLESS

The obstacle courses included crossing logs connected to wire cables suspended in air, bear-clawing about 15 wooding poles to get to the other side, ziplining through trees, attaching and hanging on a rope with nothing underneath and pullying ourselves to the other side, walking a suspended tight rope and crossing suspended wires one foot at a time–all in mid air.

During this obstacle course God ministered to me on so many levels.

There are several points I want to address to encourage others who may be bound by this same toxic relationship.

STEP ONE–STEP OUT ON FAITH

In order to even have a chance of conquering this obstacle course, no matter how much the appearance of our environment threatened us, we HAD to step out on faith to progress forward. It was scary–but once you take that step there was no looking back–there was no point of return–we had no choice but to keep moving.

What I learned is, if I focused on the position I was in, if I focused on the environment around me that appeared to oppose my progression forward–fear would set in. I would begin to think I couldn’t complete the task given–but when I would focus only on what was placed before me–my focused shifted and I was more determined to advance forward.

STEP TWO– CHANGE IS INEVITABLE, BUT HOW ONE ADAPTS TO CHANGE IS RELATIVE.


As we went through each course, the obstacles changed and practically became more challenging as we progressed .
What I noticed is if I focused on the task ahead, refusing to look beneath me, refusing to focusi on others progressing forward at a faster pace than me or anything going on around me, I was able to move forward without fear being a factor for me. However, once I became distracted by any of those mentioned above, fear would set in and have me to doubt my own ability to get to the place destined for me to go.

I realized that though our situations will change, it is not in our control. We have to adapt to the various changes and keep in mind the ultimate goal–to finish what God has set out for us to do from the beginning.

STEP THREE–SUBMIT TO LEADERSHIP

There were many times I felt as if I couldn’t go on. My upper body strength was too weak to pull when I needed, or my legs too week to push up or cross at times. When my hope was diminished by fear and the final goal seemed compromised by my physical limitations, a masculine voice would call out to me, “You got this”. He would encourage me in my challenging position, he would reach out to me when I needed him, support me when my body couldn’t physically support itself. No matter how much I wanted to quit–He saw my potential and pushed me to utilize my fullest potential.

It’s easy to submit to leadership, when the leader believes in you, supports you, motivates you, encourages you and doesn’t mind getting into the challenge themselves to help you progress forward.

Lastly,

STEP FOUR: DON’T ALLOW YOUR HISTORY TO DETERMINE THE OUTCOME OF YOUR FUTURE

If I wouldn’t have ever encountered this day, I wouldn’t have ever embraced the impact fear has had on my life.

I realize that though I may feel incapable, I am more than capable of conquering ANYTHING, if I remain focused on the task God specifically set ahead for me. I can’t allow myself to become distracted by my environments, veer off path due to the fact I think I lacking something that really isn’t needed. I can’t settle for situations that are comfortable. Sometimes I have to experience things outside of my comfort zone in order to get to the final destinations God has paved for me.

Hello, fear. We’ve been in a relationship for a very long time–but on today, I’ve decided to let you go. God has too much in store for me, and fortunately–THERE’S NO ROOM FOR YOU! From this moment on I’m FEARLESS!

One thought on “HELLO FEAR- PART 2–FEARLESS

Leave a Reply

